Subject Specialists

This is a list of ERS specialists by topic. For more information on these topics please contact the specialists listed below or browse our topics. The ERS staff directory has a complete list of contacts.

Subject Specialist Email Phone
Animal Products
Animal Policy & Regulatory Issues Jeffrey Gillespie jeffrey.gillespie@usda.gov 202-694-5308
Aquaculture Christopher Davis christopher.davis2@usda.gov 202-694-5167
Cattle & Beef Russell Knight russell.h.knight@usda.gov 202-694-5566
Dairy Jerry Cessna jgcessna@usda.gov 202-694-5171
Jonathan Law jonathan.law@usda.gov 202-694-5544
Hogs & Pork Mildred Haley mildred.haley@usda.gov 202-694-5176
Poultry & Eggs Alex Melton alex.melton@usda.gov 202-694-5409
Kim Ha kim.a.ha@usda.gov 202-694-5360
Sheep, Lamb & Mutton Russell Knight russell.h.knight@usda.gov 202-694-5566
Crops
Corn and Other Feedgrains Thomas Capehart thomas.c.capehart@usda.gov 202-694-5313
Cotton & Wool Leslie Meyer leslie.meyer@usda.gov 202-694-5307
Fruit & Tree Nuts Agnes Perez agnes.perez@usda.gov 202-694-5255
Rice Nathan Childs nathan.childs@usda.gov 202-694-5292
Soybeans & Oil Crops Mark Ash mark.ash@usda.gov 202-694-5289
Sugar & Sweeteners Michael McConnell michael.mcconnell@usda.gov 202-694-5184
Vegetables & Pulses Travis Minor travis.minor@usda.gov 202-694-5333
Wheat Jennifer Bond jennifer.bond@usda.gov 202-694-5326
Farm Economy
Agricultural Baseline James Hansen james.hansen2@usda.gov 202-694-5321
Agricultural Research and Productivity Paul Heisey pheisey@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5526
Sun Ling Wang slwang@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5460
Keith Fuglie kfuglie@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5588
Beginning & Disadvantaged Farmers Robert Williams williams@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5053
Bioenergy Thomas Capehart thomas.c.capehart@usda.gov 202-694-5313
Commodity Outlook Utpal Vasavada utpal.vasavada@usda.gov 202-694-5540
Farm & Commodity Policy James Hansen james.hansen2@usda.gov 202-694-5321
Farm Household Well-being Carrie Litkowski carrie.litkowski@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5145
Farm Labor Thomas Hertz thertz@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5416
Farm Sector Income & Finances Farm Income Team farmincometeam@ers.usda.gov
Jeffrey Hopkins jeffrey.w.hopkins@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5121
Farm Structure and Organization Nigel Key nkey@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5567
Federal Tax Issues Siraj Bawa siraj.bawa@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5579
Land Use, Land Value & Tenure Scott Callahan scott.callahan@usda.gov 816-823-1473
Farm Practices & Management
Biotechnology David Smith david.j.smith2@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5208
Fertilizers & Pesticides Roberto Mosheim rmosheim@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5365
Richard Nehring rnehring@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5618
Crop & Livestock Practices Nigel Key nkey@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5567
Irrigation & Water Use Marcel Aillery maillery@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5511
Risk Management Stephanie Rosch stephanie.rosch@usda.gov 202-694-5049
Food & Nutrition Assistance
Child Nutrition Programs Joanne Guthrie jguthrie@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5373
RIDGE Program and Extramural Research Victor Oliveira victoro@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5434
Food Security in the U.S. Alisha Coleman-Jensen acjensen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5456
Christian Gregory cgregory@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5132
Matthew Rabbitt matthew.rabbitt@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5593
Poverty & Income Volatility Laura Tiehen ltiehen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5417
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) Laura Tiehen ltiehen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5417
Erik Scherpf escherpf@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5437
WIC Program Victor Oliveira victoro@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5434
Food Choices & Health
Diet Quality & Nutrition Biing-Hwan Lin blin@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5458
Lisa Mancino lmancino@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5563
Consumer Information and Labeling Jessica Todd jtodd@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5363
Food Access Michele Ver Ploeg sverploeg@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5372
Food Consumption & Demand Biing-Hwan Lin blin@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5458
Obesity Lisa Mancino lmancino@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5563
Food Markets & Prices
Consumer and Producer Price Indexes Gianna Short gianna.short@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5543
Food Prices, Expenditures & Costs Patrick Canning pcanning@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5341
Hayden Stewart hstewart@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5394
Howard Elitzak helitzak@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5375
Food Service Industry Hayden Stewart hstewart@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5394
Local Foods Stephen Martinez martinez@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5378
Stephen Vogel svogel@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5368
Processing & Marketing Stephen Martinez martinez@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5378
Retailing & Wholesaling Howard Elitzak helitzak@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5375
Food Safety
Consumers Fred Kuchler fkuchler@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5468
Sandra Hoffmann shoffmann@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5354
Markets, Regulation, and Policy Michael Ollinger ollinger@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5454
Fred Kuchler fkuchler@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5468
International Markets & U.S. Trade
Countries & Regions Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
Brazil Constanza Valdes constanza.valdes@usda.gov 202-694-5225
China Fred Gale fred.gale@usda.gov 202-694-5215
European Union Lorraine Mitchell lorraine.mitchell@usda.gov 202-694-5234
NAFTA, Canada & Mexico Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
International Consumer and Food Industry Trends Birgit Meade birgit.meade@usda.gov 202-694-5159
Global Food Security Karen Thome karen.thome@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5170
Macroeconomics & Agriculture Chang Hong Chang.Hong@usda.gov 202-694-5222
Trade Policy & World Trade Organization (WTO) Tani Lee tani.lee@usda.gov 202-694-5282
U.S. Agricultural Trade Kamron Daugherty kamron.daugherty@usda.gov 202-694-5578
Natural Resources & Environment
Climate Change Elizabeth Marshall emarshall@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5571
Conservation Programs Roger Claassen claassen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5473
Environmental Quality Claudia Hitaj cmhitaj@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5513
Organic Agriculture Catherine Greene cgreene@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5541
Rural Economy & Population
Business & Industry Tim Wojan twojan@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5419
David McGranahan dmcg@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5356
Employment & Education Thomas Hertz thertz@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5416
Tracey Farrigan tfarrigan@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5489
Natural Amenities David McGranahan dmcg@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5356
Population & Migration John Cromartie jbc@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5421
Rural Classifications John Cromartie jbc@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5421
Timothy Parker tparker@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5435
Rural Poverty & Well-Being Tracey Farrigan tfarrigan@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5489