Subject Specialists

This is a list of ERS specialists by topic. For more information on these topics please contact the specialists listed below or browse our topics. The ERS staff directory has a complete list of contacts.

Subject Specialist Email Phone
Animal Products
Animal Policy & Regulatory Issues William Hahn william.hahn@usda.gov 816-926-1443
Cattle & Beef Russell Knight russell.h.knight@usda.gov 816-926-3269
Dairy Jerry Cessna jgcessna@usda.gov 202-694-5171
Hogs & Pork Mildred Haley mildred.haley@usda.gov 202-694-5176
Poultry & Eggs Grace Grossen Grace.Grossen@usda.gov 816-926-8820
Kim Ha kim.a.ha@usda.gov 202-694-5360
Sheep, Lamb & Mutton William Hahn william.hahn@usda.gov 816-926-1443
Crops
Corn and Other Feedgrains Thomas Capehart thomas.c.capehart@usda.gov 202-694-5313
Michael McConnell michael.mcconnell@usda.gov 202-694-5184
Cotton & Wool Leslie Meyer leslie.meyer@usda.gov 202-694-5307
Fruit & Tree Nuts Jaclyn Kramer Jaclyn.Kramer@usda.gov (816) 926-6007
Rice Nathan Childs nathan.childs@usda.gov 202-694-5292
Soybeans & Oil Crops Mark Ash mark.ash@usda.gov 202-694-5289
Sugar & Sweeteners Andrew Sowell Andrew.Sowell@usda.gov 202-720-0262
Vegetables & Pulses Gary Lucier Gary.Lucier@usda.gov
Wheat Jennifer Bond jennifer.bond@usda.gov 202-694-5326
Farm Economy
Agricultural Baseline James Hansen james.hansen2@usda.gov 202-694-5321
Erik Dohlman erik.dohlman@usda.gov 202-694-5585
Agricultural Research and Productivity Keith Fuglie keith.fuglie@usda.gov 202-694-5588
Sun Ling Wang sunling.wang@usda.gov 202-694-5460
Eric Njuki eric.njuki@usda.gov 816-926-2504
Beginning, Limited Resource, Socially Disadvantaged, and Female Farmers Nigel Key nigel.key@usda.gov 202-694-5567
Bioenergy Thomas Capehart thomas.c.capehart@usda.gov 202-694-5313
Commodity Outlook Utpal Vasavada utpal.vasavada@usda.gov 202-694-5540
Farm & Commodity Policy James Hansen james.hansen2@usda.gov 202-694-5321
Farm Household Well-being Jessica Todd jessica.todd@usda.gov 202-694-5363
Christine Whitt christine.whitt1@usda.gov 202-694-5288
Farm Labor Marcelo Castillo marcelo.castillo@usda.gov 202-694-5548
Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
Skyler Simnitt skyler.simnitt@usda.gov 816-926-1393
Farm Sector Income & Finances Farm Income Team farmincometeam@usda.gov
Farm Structure and Organization Nigel Key nigel.key@usda.gov 202-694-5567
Federal Tax Issues Tia McDonald tia.mcdonald@usda.gov
Land Use, Land Value & Tenure Scott Callahan scott.callahan@usda.gov 816-823-1473
Farm Practices & Management
Biotechnology Laura Dodson laura.dodson@usda.gov 202-694-5505
Fertilizers & Pesticides Roberto Mosheim roberto.mosheim@usda.gov 202-694-5365
Richard Nehring richard.nehring@usda.gov 816-926-1548
Crop & Livestock Practices Nigel Key nigel.key@usda.gov 202-694-5567
Irrigation & Water Use Aaron Hrozencik aaron.hrozencik@usda.gov 816-926-1444
Risk Management Erik Dohlman erik.dohlman@usda.gov 202-694-5585
Food & Nutrition Assistance
Child Nutrition Programs Joanne Guthrie joanne.guthrie@usda.gov 202-694-5373
Food Assistance Data & Collaborative Research Programs Mark Prell mark.prell@usda.gov 202-694-5408
Alana Rhone alana.y.rhone@usda.gov 202-694-5622
Food Security in the U.S. Alisha Coleman-Jensen alisha.coleman-jensen@usda.gov 202-694-5456
Christian Gregory christian.gregory@usda.gov 816-926-1648
Matthew Rabbitt matthew.rabbitt@usda.gov 816-823-5300
Poverty & Income Volatility Laura Tiehen laura.tiehen@usda.gov 202-694-5417
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) Laura Tiehen laura.tiehen@usda.gov 202-694-5417
WIC Program Leslie Hodges Leslie.Hodges@usda.gov
Patrick McLaughlin patrick.mclaughlin@usda.gov 202-694-5402
Food Choices & Health
Diet Quality & Nutrition Biing-Hwan Lin biing-hwan.lin@usda.gov 202-694-5458
Consumer Information and Labeling Fred Kuchler fred.kuchler@usda.gov 202-694-5468
Food Access Alana Rhone alana.y.rhone@usda.gov 202-694-5622
Food Consumption & Demand Biing-Hwan Lin biing-hwan.lin@usda.gov 202-694-5458
Obesity Joanne Guthrie joanne.guthrie@usda.gov 202-694-5373
Sabrina Young Sabrina.Young@usda.gov
Food Markets & Prices
Consumer and Producer Price Indexes Carolyn Chelius carolyn.chelius@usda.gov 816-926-1943
Food Prices, Expenditures & Costs Patrick Canning patrick.canning@usda.gov 816-926-6527
Hayden Stewart hayden.stewart@usda.gov 816-823-1595
Andrea Carlson andrea.carlson@usda.gov 202-694-5072
Food Service Industry Eliana Zeballos eliana.zeballos@usda.gov 202-694-5442
Local Foods Stephen Martinez stephen.martinez2@usda.gov 202-694-5378
Timothy Park timothy.park@usda.gov 816-926-1943
Processing & Marketing Eliana Zeballos eliana.zeballos@usda.gov 202-694-5442
Retailing & Wholesaling Eliana Zeballos eliana.zeballos@usda.gov 202-694-5442
Food Safety
Consumers Fred Kuchler fred.kuchler@usda.gov 202-694-5468
Sandra Hoffmann sandra.hoffmann@usda.gov 202-694-5354
Markets, Regulation, and Policy Michael Ollinger michael.ollinger@usda.gov 202-694-5454
Fred Kuchler fred.kuchler@usda.gov 202-694-5468
International Markets & U.S. Trade
U.S. Agricultural Trade Bart Kenner Bart.Kenner@usda.gov 816-926-8827
Countries & Regions Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
Brazil Constanza Valdes constanza.valdes@usda.gov 816-926-6041
China Fred Gale fred.gale@usda.gov 202-694-5215
European Union Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
India Kayode Ajewole Kayode.Ajewole@usda.gov 816-926-1998
USMCA, Canada, & Mexico Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
International Consumer and Food Industry Trends Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
Global Food Security Cheryl Christensen Cheryl.Christensen@usda.gov
Macroeconomics & Agriculture Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
Trade Policy & World Trade Organization (WTO) Steven Zahniser steven.zahniser@usda.gov 202-694-5230
Erik Dohlman erik.dohlman@usda.gov 202-694-5585
Natural Resources & Environment
Climate Change Ron Sands ron.sands@usda.gov 816-926-1547
Conservation Programs Steven Wallander steve.wallander@usda.gov 202-694-5546
Environmental Quality Steven Wallander steve.wallander@usda.gov 202-694-5546
Organic Agriculture Kelly Maguire kelly.b.maguire@usda.gov 202-694-5448
Rural Economy & Population
Business & Industry John Pender john.pender@usda.gov 202-694-5568
Employment & Education Tracey Farrigan tracey.farrigan@usda.gov 202-694-5489
Natural Amenities David McGranahan david.mcgranahan@usda.gov 816-926-7092
Population & Migration John Cromartie john.cromartie@usda.gov 202-694-5421
Rural Classifications John Cromartie john.cromartie@usda.gov 202-694-5421
Rural Poverty & Well-Being Tracey Farrigan tracey.farrigan@usda.gov 202-694-5489