2013 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes

The 2013 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes form a classification scheme that distinguishes metropolitan counties by the population size of their metro area, and nonmetropolitan counties by degree of urbanization and adjacency to metro areas. The official Office of Management and Budget (OMB) metro and nonmetro categories have been subdivided into three metro and six nonmetro categories. Each county in the U.S. and Puerto Rico is assigned one of the 9 codes.

Download larger size chart (500 pixels by 475, 72 dpi)