TopicsTopics

Stay Connected

Follow ERS on Twitter
Subscribe to RSS feeds
Subscribe to ERS e-Newsletters.aspx
Listen to ERS podcasts
Read ERS blogs at USDA

Subject Specialists

This is a list of ERS specialists by topic. For more information on these topics please contact the specialists listed below or browse our topics. The ERS staff directory has a complete list of contacts.

Subject Specialist Email Phone
Animal Products      
Animal Production & Marketing Issues Kenneth Mathews kmathews@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5183
Aquaculture David Harvey djharvey@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5177
Cattle & Beef Kenneth Mathews kmathews@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5183
Dairy Roger Hoskin rhoskin@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5148
Hogs & Pork Mildred Haley mhaley@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5176
Poultry & Eggs David Harvey djharvey@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5177
Sheep, Lamb & Mutton Keithly Jones kjones@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5172
Crops      
Corn Edward Allen ewallen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5288
Cotton & Wool Leslie Meyer lmeyer@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5307
Fruit & Tree Nuts Agnes Perez acperez@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5255
Rice Nathan Childs nchilds@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5292
Soybeans & Oil Crops Mark Ash mash@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5289
Sugar & Sweeteners Stephen Haley shaley@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5247
Vegetables & Pulses Suzanne Thornsbury sthornsbury@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5238
Wheat Gary Vocke gvocke@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5285
  Edward Allen ewallen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5288
Farm Economy      
Agricultural Baseline Projections Paul Westcott westcott@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5335
  Ronald Trostle rtrostle@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5280
Agricultural Productivity Eldon Ball eball@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5601
Agricultural Science Policy Paul Heisey pheisey@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5526
Beginning & Disadvantaged Farmers James Williamson jwilliamson@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5539
Bioenergy Thomas Capehart tcapehart@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5313
  Utpal Vasavada vasavada@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5540
Commodity Outlook Maurice Landes mlandes@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5145
Farm & Commodity Policy Joseph Cooper jcooper@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5482
  Anne Effland aeffland@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5319
  Erik O'Donoghue eodonoghue@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5585
Farm Household Well-being Jeremy Weber jeweber@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5584
Farm Labor Thomas Hertz thertz@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5416
Farm Sector Income & Finances Mitch Morehart morehart@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5581
Farm Structure and Organization Robert Hoppe rhoppe@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5572
  Doris Newton dnewton@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5619
Federal Tax Issues Ron Durst rdurst@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5347
  James Williamson jwilliamson@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5539
Land Use, Land Value & Tenure Allison Borchers aborchers@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5548
Farm Practices & Management      
Biotechnology Jorge Fernandez-Cornejo jorgef@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5537
Chemical Inputs Craig Osteen costeen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5547
Crop & Livestock Practices Nigel Key nkey@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5567
Irrigation & Water Use Glenn Schaible schaible@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5549
  Marcel Aillery maillery@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5511
Risk Management Erik O'Donoghue eodonoghue@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5585
Food & Nutrition Assistance      
Child Nutrition Programs Joanne Guthrie jguthrie@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5373
Food & Nutrition Assistance Research Victor Oliveira victoro@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5434
Food Security in the U.S. Mark Nord marknord@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5433
  Alisha Coleman-Jensen acjensen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5456
Poverty & Income Volatility Laura Tiehen ltiehen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5417
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) John Kirlin jkirlin@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5398
WIC Program Elizabeth Frazão efrazao@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5455
  Victor Oliveira victoro@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5434
Food Choices & Health      
Diet Quality & Nutrition Biing-Hwan Lin blin@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5458
  Lisa Mancino lmancino@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5563
Education, Information & Labeling Jessica Todd jtodd@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5363
Food Access Michele Ver Ploeg sverploeg@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5372
Food Consumption & Demand Biing-Hwan Lin blin@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5458
  Abigail Okrent aokrent@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5206
Obesity Lisa Mancino lmancino@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5563
Food Markets & Prices      
Consumer Price Index (CPI) Richard Volpe rvolpe@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5395
  Ephraim Leibtag eleibtag@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5349
  Annemarie Kuhns amkuhns@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5351
Food Prices, Expenditures & Costs Patrick Canning pcanning@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5341
  Annette Clauson aclauson@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5389
  Hayden Stewart hstewart@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5394
  Richard Volpe rvolpe@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5395
  Annemarie Kuhns amkuhns@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5351
Food Service Industry Hayden Stewart hstewart@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5394
Local Foods Stephen Martinez martinez@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5378
  Stephen Vogel svogel@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5368
Processing & Marketing Stephen Martinez martinez@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5378
Retailing & Wholesaling      
Food Safety      
Foodborne Illness Sandra Hoffmann shoffmann@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5354
Labeling & Information Policy Fred Kuchler fkuchler@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5468
Market Incentives & Government Regulation Michael Ollinger ollinger@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5454
Response to Incidents Fred Kuchler fkuchler@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5468
International Markets & Trade      
Countries & Regions      
Brazil Constanza Valdes cvaldes@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5225
China Fred Gale fgale@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5215
European Union Nancy Cochrane cochrane@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5143
India Maurice Landes mlandes@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5145
Japan John Dyck jdyck@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5221
NAFTA, Canada & Mexico Steven Zahniser zahniser@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5230
South Korea John Dyck jdyck@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5221
Food Safety & International Markets Jean Buzby jbuzby@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5370
Global Food Markets Anita Regmi aregmi@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5161
Global Food Security Stacey Rosen slrosen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5164
Macroeconomics & Agriculture Mathew Shane mshane@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5282
Trade Policy John Wainio jwainio@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5227
World Trade Organization (WTO) John Wainio jwainio@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5227
U.S. Agricultural Trade Stephen MacDonald stephenm@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5305
Natural Resources & Environment      
Climate Change Carol Jones cjones@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5505
Conservation Programs Roger Claassen claassen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5473
Environmental Quality Marc Ribaudo mribaudo@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5488
Invasive Species Issues Craig Osteen costeen@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5547
Organic Agriculture Catherine Greene cgreene@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5541
Rural Economy & Population      
Business & Industry Tim Wojan twojan@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5419
Employment & Education Lorin Kusmin lkusmin@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5429
Natural Amenities David McGranahan dmcg@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5356
Population & Migration John Cromartie jbc@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5421
Rural Classifications John Cromartie jbc@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5421
  Timothy Parker tparker@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5435
Rural Development Policy John Pender jpender@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5568
Rural Poverty & Well-being Tracey Farrigan tfarrigan@ers.usda.gov 202-694-5489

Last updated: Tuesday, July 23, 2013

For more information contact: Website Administrator

Share or Save this Page